Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name


Degree Program




Major Professor

Sieg, Jerry

Second Advisor

Williams, Robin H.

Third Advisor

Hammann, James


Leyla and Mejnun for string quartet relates a classical Middle Eastern love story. A young poet named Qays Ibn Al-Mulawwah fell in love with his cousin Leyla. He went mad when her father prevented him from marrying her. The music consists of four interwoven movements. The Prelude is based on a motif in F# played by the first violin, then by the second violin on Bb, and finally by the viola and cello altogether, respectively in D and Ab. It ends with a final restatement of the motif on the second violin with pizzicato on the three other instruments. The Prelude is followed by a dramatic transition that leads to the Love Theme which is treated as a theme and variations. The third movement is a Scherzo based on a Middle Eastern dance called Dabke. It ends with an Epilogue whose materials stem from the Prelude.


The University of New Orleans and its agents retain the non-exclusive license to archive and make accessible this dissertation or thesis in whole or in part in all forms of media, now or hereafter known. The author retains all other ownership rights to the copyright of the thesis or dissertation.